top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureaprilnewlyme

Easy & Quick Breakfast, Snacks and Lunches Idea's

Now I’m a housewife but I’m always on the go like most housewives are. Contrary to what most people might think housewives don’t sit around all day watching TV eating bonbons all day. Now that would be the life! We truly work very hard. It may not be a traditional nine to five job like the majority of Americans have but don’t get it twisted taking care of and maintaining a home is no easy task day in & day out. Throw in some kids and I’d say you pretty much a dang CEO. Also, I have a few things on the side I’m responsible to take care of each day. So please trust me when I say I have things to do honey. Whether it be cooking, cleaning, organizing, planning, working on my YouTube channel , working on my blog, or the lifestyle brand I’m associated with, when it comes to breakfast, lunch, and snacks I love to have something nice and quick, no fuss no muss. For one I honestly don’t feel like dirtying any dishes that I’ll have to just have to turn around and clean later on that day. Although this isn’t always possible I truly try to avoid dirtying a dish whenever possible. Plus that takes time I don’t really want to spare. The second obvious reason is I don’t have the time and what little time I do have I’d like to spend on doing something else around the house. So why not TV dinners you ask? Their quick and easy right? Believe it or not, I try to stay away from frozen dinners as much as I can as they’re just empty calories in my opinion and usually are super unhealthy for the most part.

So what I do a few things to prep for a quick healthy breakfast, lunch, and snack or lunch. Say tuned for that blog post. Most of the meals/snacks I’m going to share with you guys are extremely simple to prepare, cook, and or accessible. They are very easy concepts guys. Don’t make things overly complicated. I have a few go-to breakfast, lunch, and snacks that are healthy and more importantly satisfying.


Breakfast




Instant Oatmeal

Water or milk

Oatmeal

Butter

Sweetener

Again, let’s not complicate things! For quick & easy simple is always better. Now I’m an instant oatmeal girl. Meaning the oatmeal is already pre-portioned out and all I have to do it dump it in a small pot of boiling water or mike (I tend to use both in equal portions), add my butter and sweetener, cook for all of 2 min, cover and let sit for another 2 min (I’m normally preparing my coffee at this time), and in about 4 – 5 min a have a nice hot bowl of oatmeal.


Egg Bites/Muffin

Eggs

Mike or cream

Veggies

Protein

Salt & pepper

Definitely, something to make ahead of your week. In a large measuring cup with spout or bowl combine your eggs, milk/or cream, then your salt & pepper. I always beat my eggs first. Then take you muffin ten liners and all them to you muffin tens. Add a little protein (I always seem to use bacon), veggies (my favorites are onion & tomato), and cheese (I’m a cheddar girl) to each muffin liner. After you’ve done that then add your egg mixture. Bake in 350-degree in the oven for about 30 – 40 minutes and store in a container.


Eggs & Spinach

Butter, oil, or cooking spray

Salt & paper

Eggs

Spinach

Milk or cream

Can y’all tell I love eggs LOL. Now, this isn't something ahead but it's super quick to prepare. In a frying pan add your butter, oil, or cooking spray then add your spinach (I use fresh but if you use frozen you going to want to thaw & drain). While that’s cooking in a bowl beat your eggs with milk or cream. After a minute or two, your spinach should be wilted now add your egg mixture. Then season with salt & pepper to taste and there you have. I some times add a little red chili flake's on top for a kick!


Avocado Toast

Bread of your choice

Avocado

Salt & Pepper

Red Chili Flakes

Egg

Butter/ cooking spray

Now, this is something you can’t make ahead of time, but this literally takes me a good five minutes to make in the morning plus, its hands down my favorite breakfast. Your gonna prepare your eggs to your liking (I prefer an over-easy egg), seasoning with salt & pepper. With this dish, you want to multi-task in order to save time. Now while your egg’s cooking prepare your toast. At this time take your avocado in a bowl smash it up and add your red chili flacks. Then accessible.



Snacks




Poor man’s charcuterie:

A few cubs of one or two different cheeses

A few kalamata olives (or olives of your choice)

some grapes, sliced small apple, or even a hand full of dry fruit

one or two slices of deli meat

a few crackers or a hand full of nuts.

Now, who doesn't like a good charcuterie board? Show of hands. Anyone? I didn’t think so. My version is very scaled-down but a great snack! Bigger portions and if also has been a great lunch. Something you can make ahead of time. I often cut everything up and put everything in a nice storage container on the weekend.


Ants on a log:

Celery stocks and fill them with cream cheese and or peanut butter

Add some raisins, dry fruit, or olives on top.

It doesn’t get any more simpler than that, does it? I honestly do both versions, cream cheese & peanut butter. I love to put dry cherries or cranberries on top of the peanut butter filled ones. And Green or Kalamata on top of the cream cheese fill celery stocks are heavenly. Again, something I do on the weekend ahead of time.


Homemade trail mix:

Dry fruit

Nuts

Granola

Mini pretzels

Now this one is a no brainer guys. I never really buy trail mix as I’m picky and don’t like all the components of a traditional trail mix. Now, this is something you can change up from week to week. You can really play with it.


Chips & Dip

Sour cream

Cream cheese

French onion dip mix

Green onion

Potato chips

Mix a small container of sour cream 8oz., half a pack of cream cheese, a full pack of French onion dip mix (my favorite is Laura Scudders), and two to three green onions.

Being the most complicated, if you could even call it complicated of all the snacks is my absolute favorite. And no it's not all that healthy however is not a pre-bought dip with a whole lot of ingredients you can't even pronounce. This dip with some plain lightly salted potato chips lawd! You know and can control what goes into it. Yet again, you guessed it something that I make on the weekend. And hey if you don’t like my dip some regular store-bought dip or even salsa would be a quick snack.



Lunches




Good Old Fashion Sandwich

sourdough bread

roasted turkey

lettuce

tomato

pickles

spicy mustard

Again, let's keep it, simple people. Don’t think I really need to explain this but what I will say is I normally don’t make sandwiches ahead of time because there’s nothing worst soggy bread. I find soggy bread, I sure y’all do too, so freaking gross! But in all honesty, y’all making a sandwich takes me less than two minutes so it’s really no big deal to me. I will say however, I do pre-cut my lettuce & tomatoes and store them away in a container/dish in order to save myself a bit of time.


Simple Salad

Lettuce of your choice

A Protein

Tomato

Cucumber

Cheese

Olive

Salad dressing

Now, this is my go-to for real for real LOL. I promise you nine times out of ten I’m eating a dang salad. I do make my salads ahead of time. My favorite protein to have on my salad is either chicken or salmon. I definitely cook and cut up my protein ahead of time. Tip, if you choose to make your salads ahead of time I spread everything within the container. Meaning my lettuce is on one side of the container and everything else tucked away in its own area. I then put a paper towel on top. I spread everything in order to avoid the lettuce from getting soggy. I use the paper towel to soak up any moister, again to avoid anything getting soggy.


Pasta Salad

Pasta of your choice

Veggies

Deli meat

Cheese

Salad dressing

Pasta salad is life it’s a great side but can also be a very fulfilling lunch.

This is something you’ll want to do ahead of time as well. Plus, pasta salad always tastes better the day after its originally made. All you need to do is boil your desired pasta (tri-colored rotini or bowtie are my favorites to use for pasta salad) as per direction then add your chopped veggies & meat, then finally your salad dressing.


Stir-Fry

Rice

Protein

Veggies

Your choice of seasoning (21 one seasoning saute aka Mrs. Dash & red chili flakes are my favorites)

Soy sauce

I love a good stir fry y’all. Besides cooking your rice per their directions, you simply throw everything a pan, saute, season, and soy sauce. This is also a great way to get rid of any leftover produce you may have that you don’t want to go bad. You can also buy stir-fry kits at just about any grocery store now.

Stir-Fry are super satisfying, and in my opinion healthy. You defiantly want to make this one ahead of time and store in containers.


Pasta Salad

Pasta of your choice

Veggies

Deli meat

Cheese

Salad dressing

Pasta salad is life it’s a great side but can also be a very fulfilling lunch.

This is something you’ll want to do ahead of time as well. Plus, pasta salad always tastes better the day after its originally made. All you need to do is boil your desired pasta (tri-colored rotini or bowtie are my favorites to use for pasta salad) as per direction then add your chopped veggies & meat, then finally your salad dressing.


There you have it quick, easy, and delicious! I can’t stress enough that you don’t want to over complicate things for yourself. These may not be the most exciting dishes however they’re relatively healthier than fast food or some frozen meal. This has truly helped me so much when it comes to time management. It really allows me to save time, therefore, allowing me to get my task & chores done with a good amount of time left in my day to spare. I hope this helped and gave you guys a little motivation. Again be sure to say tuned for my “Meal prep” blog post & YouTube video. Until next time guys!

31 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page