top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureaprilnewlyme

How To Not Go Not Go Broke At Sam’s Club/Costco

So, in my last blog post, I let y’all in on what my wife and I buy at Sam’s Club. Everything from food, household & cleaning supplies, and beauty products. We honestly shop at Sam’s Club about once every one or two months. Being that it's just the two of us as well as the limited space we have here in our temporary apartment it works out just fine. Now when we lived in California and had our house, we had memberships to both the so-called big-box stores and or wholesaler Sam’s Club & Costco. And we shopped there monthly. We had a plus Sam’s Club membership and an executive membership at Costco. For the moment we currently just have the plus membership Sam’s. We blow a lot of money let me tell you! We would spend anywhere from $200 to $300 each trip. Now that’s a lot of money considering I still would spend money and our neighborhood grocery store. Bro we were really acting like we had a music record deal or one of us had a dang NBA deal LOL. Today I wanna break down cost as well as how to avoid going overboard and spending a butt load of money.


So let’s talk memberships:


Costco

Gold membership $60.00

Executive Membership $120.00

Business Membership $60.00

Business Executive membership $120.00


All memberships include one free household card. Also, all memberships are valid at all Costco locations. The basic executive as well as the business executive membership Annual 2% Reward on Eligible Costco and Costco Travel Purchases & Extra Benefits on Select Costco Services. While the business & the business executive memberships come include Add Additional People to Membership ($60 each) & Purchase for Resale.


Sam’s Club

Basic membership $45.00

Plus membership $100.00


Both memberships include Instant Savings Extra offers on top of already low members-only prices, Sam's Club Mastercard eligible to earn 5% back on gas, 3% on dining and travel and 1% on other purchases - up to $5,000 per year, Payless at the pump get member-exclusive prices on fuel. Available in select locations, Tire and Battery Center Free flat tire repair, battery testing, and wiper blade installation, a Complimentary card one free household membership to share, and an add-on membership receive all Club member benefits for a discounted annual price of $40. While the Sam’s plus membership offers earn cash rewards get 2% back on qualifying purchases - up to $500/year!, free shipping every day no minimum purchase exclusions apply, early shopping hours get in and out faster without the crowds starting at 7 AM Monday – Friday, free select prescriptions plus over 600 more for $10 or less and up to 30% off select name brands, and discounts on glasses get 20% off a complete pair of eyeglasses and enjoy free shipping on contact lenses.


I can honestly say that all the membership really did pay for themselves. I mean one shopping trip really does pay for itself. I think they’re all worth the money. To be completely honest it was a toss-up as far as which one we would keep when we moved here to Colorado. I honestly based my decision (my wife left it up to me as grocery shopping is my wheelhouse) on location. Sam’s is just about 7 minutes from the house as opposed to the 15 minutes it would take to get to Costco. Look out for a blog post about which one I prefer and why in the near future! As I’ve stated before you can seriously spend a small fortune in these types of wholesale stores. For me, the deals and prices are so good I kinda feel like I need to be buying these things. Like the deals are going to go away LOL, they won't be there on my next trip. I also get what I like to call “price amnesia”. I just put things in my cart either not looking at the price or just not adding as I go, not making mental notes keeping track of the prices as I shop. Also, if you have been following my blog y’all know in the past I would shop without a list or plan which will get you in a world of trouble in any type of store.



The Price tag


There are some secrets I want to share with y’all on how not to break the bank. Costco, as well as Sam’s Club, have patterns when it comes to how they price things in their stores. Now let me say this, this is just a pattern that I’ve noticed ad well as researched online. This has not been published anywhere, stated, and or co-singed by either store just so we’re clear. Let’s get into it. When something is priced with 99 cents after the dollar amount, for example, $10.99 this price is a starting price, a starting point so dose speaks, and more than likely the price will drop in the next few weeks. Don’t buy it yet wait for the deal. Items ending with a 7 after the dollar amount, for example, $10.47 normally means it’s a discounted price. More than likely from the starter price I just told y’all about. It’s also sometimes is a manager special. Buy it! While prices ending in 88 after a dollar amount, for example, $10.88 means the stock on this item is low and it was marked down to get this item off the shelf as quickly as possible. Now prices ending in 49 or 47 after the dollar amount example $10.45 or $10.47 normally mean this is a manufactured price and are the best deal you’ll get on this particular item. Seriously buy it you won't get any better on the price.



Stay Away From the Middle of the Store


Most Costco & Sam’s Club stores are set up kinda the same. The frozen food, fresh meat & bakery, fresh produce, cleaning supplies, pantry & canned goods, and pharmacy & beauty items are all in the outer corners and perimeter of the store. While the inside of the store has clothes, lining, books & magazines, kitchen supplies, and small appliances are located. While I wouldn’t say these items are outright totally overpriced you can often find better deals elsewhere. Also, with the exception of the electronics department, these are normally where the most expensive items are located. Literally walk in with tunnel vision people. Focus and keep your eyes forward, I’m being so serious y’all. I can say without a doubt if you just shop the outer perimeter of the store you have a better chance of walking out of the store still having money in your bank account to pay your rent or mortgage. It's dangerous to explore those inner aisles. Do it at your own risk.


Only Buy What You Need At The Time


Now listen to me I’ve been there. I know how you feel! I've had the urge to buy four things to gain detergent because there was an instant savings sale. It was $16 bucks vs the regular $20. Yes I know I had a not yet empty container of the same Gain detergent at home and I just came to the store to get another container before I ran out. No, I have nowhere to really store the four Gain containers that are now in my cart. No, it's not in my budget but I can same a whole $5 bucks! Trust me I’ve been there y’all. I know the struggle y’all. Don’t fall into the rabbit hole LOL. Buy the things you need at the moment. Things that you're going to use that week, that month. I know it's hard I really feel do get it. But most of the deals aren't going anywhere you can wait until you need it.


Well, folks there you have it! There are my secrets to not going broke while shopping in Costco & Sam’s. Until next time guys.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page