top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureaprilnewlyme

Top 5 Christmas Songs

Hey, y’all! So, believe it or not, the big day is literally next week are y’all. It kinda snuck up on me. Who’s ready? Christmas cards mailed out yet? Done with all your Christmas shopping? If that’s the case is everything wrapped already? Ya me neither LOL. But what I have started doing is listing to my Christmas music. I normally start a week after thanksgiving. Little by little I’ll get into the holiday/ Christmas sprit, baby steps. It’s always been crazy to me how a song can bring back a particular memory or feeling. More than any other musical genre this happens when for a week or two in December when I listen to my Christmas music. It makes me think of my Mommie & aunties cooking and baking in the kitchen. My cousins & I going to see Santa at the mall or making our Christmas list at my granddaddies dining room table together. Driving around the neighborhood after dinner with my uncle to look at all the Christmas lights and decorations, now that was fun. I use to sneak out of my bedroom to see the big tree with all the pretty bright lights when everyone else in the house was sleeping. Christmas morning when the whole family would be in the living room of my granddaddies house, all the kids opening their gifts, the grown folks all talking and laughing. Everyone is happy and everyone being together. Yes, this is super corny however it’s the absolute truth. Christmas music brings out the sentimental cornball in my every year. So, this time around I wanted to share with y’all my top five favorite Christmas Songs!


Number 5


Mariah Carey- “All I Want For Christmas Is You”


Now when I was younger you couldn’t tell me Mariah wasn’t the original signer of this dang song LOL. I would argue anyone down. I had no idea this was a remake. The original song was by Vince Vance & Valiants in 1989. To this day I have not heard it LOL but with all the royalties coming in from Mariah’s version I’m sure they don’t mind, I know I wouldn’t. Anywho Mariah's version came out in 1994 I was a good nine or ten at the time. I can remember using my hairbrush like a mic and singing loudly in my living room as I watched the music video on “The Box”. Y’all remember the music network “the box” where people would call in & request a music video? Back when these music videos were good they were like mini-movies. LOL completely showing y’all how old I am! I remember in the music video clips of her being with her family (at least I think it was her family) & her running around & playing in the snow with her dog. The video really made me want a dog y’all LOL. This song was upbeat & poppy. Totally not my style normally, like at all. There’s something about the combo of the bells in the song & Mariah’s voice that just made me smile. It made me wanna go Christmas shopping and spend money I didn’t have.


" I don't want a lot for Christmas There is just one thing I need I don't care about the presents Underneath the Christmas tree I just want you for my own More than you could ever know Make my wish come true oh All I want for Christmas is you"



Number 4


Ukrainian Folk Chant Shchedryl- “Carol Of The Bells”


Now if you need a reference to this some. If you haven't seen the movie Home Alone (by the way you’re a complete freak of nature if you haven’t) it’s the song that plays when Kevin is getting the house ready for the bad guys. Due to the movie Home Alone, Carol Of The Bells this is one of my favorite Christmas songs of all time. I use to watch Home Alone back to back when I was growing up. It’s always been one of my favorite Christmas movies …(incert link)…. I mean it was in heavy rotation in on my television set y’all. For the life of me, I do not know the words. I low key didn’t know there were any words I thought the signers were making noses, to be honest, LOL. I can't remember how old I was with I finally realized there was actually singing in this song LOL. It truly brings me back to my childhood. To a time when I was old enough to know there was no such thing as Santa but still young enough to totally embody the Christmas spirit. I was and honestly still am so here for struggling up with a big bowl of popcorn and watching good, classic, Christmas movies. Not the ones on the Hallmark Channel, I seriously hate the Christmas movies on the dang Hallmark Channel y’all.


"Hark how the bells, Sweet silver bells, All seem to say, Throw cares away

Christmas is here, Bringing good cheer, To young and old, Meek and the bold.

Ding dong ding dong That is their song With joyful ring All caroling."


Number 3


Judy Garland – “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”


I adore Judy Garland's rendition of this song above all others I’ve heard. Her voice is just perfect for this song in my personal opinion. She has a kind of sorrow & sadness in her voice while singing. I can't really explain it. It sounds strange but the song is basically about wishing someone a happy holiday season but if you really listen the song is kinda deeper then that. The tone of the song comes across as if the person she’s singing too is no longer in her life, or they're not close as they once were but she’s wishing the person the best. Anyway, that was my interpretation of it. This song touches a cored with me, more so in my adult life vs when I was younger listing to it because we have all grown apart from some friends maybe even some family members. I know I have. Although your no longer as close as you once were you don’t harbor any bad feelings, you still wish them the best. And you also still cherish the memories you have of them.


"Have yourself a merry little Christmas Let your heart be light Next year all our troubles will be out of sight Have yourself a merry little Christmas Make the yuletide gay Next year all our troubles will be miles away"


Number 2


Donny Hathaway – “This Christmas”


I’m sorry growing up black this song was a part of your Christmas experience person LOL. I can smell my grannie, mom, and aunties cooking when I hear this song. I don’t care where you're from or where you lived. If you were black this was playing in your house. This song was released in 1970 long before my time however before the age of five I know the lyrics word for word. I didn’t actively try to learn the lyrics I just heard it some much I couldn’t help but learn them LOL. Not to at all say I don’t or don't love the song, For some reason, this was always the song playing when we had Christmas dinner at my granddaddies. I just remember everyone everywhere with a plate of food eating, talking, smiling, & laughing. This song always brings a smile to my face.


"Hang all the mistletoe I'm gonna get to know you better this Christmas And as we trim the tree How much fun it's gonna be together this Christmas

The fireside is blazing bright, wow We're caroling through the night, wow This Christmas will be a very special Christmas for me"


Number 1


Eartha Kitt – “Santa Baby”


Santa Baby was written by Joan Javits in 1953 the original and greatest version of the song was sung by the late great Eartha Kitt. Mrs. Earth Kitt is undefeated guys lets argue about it, we really can. If you don’t know who she is you really need

seek help LOL. Hands the greatest Christmas song of all time. When I tell know as a child I would wrap a blanket around my shoulders imagining it was a mink coat while singing this song. Erath Kitt was so sophisticated and glamorous in my eyes. Not to mention was breathtaking. Everything about her just screamed diva period. Love her. I played the tape I had some much it literally popped LOL. It was that serious y’all. This song is her asking zaddy, Santa for what she wanted for Christmas. The whole flow and vibe of the song is everything. I am Eratha Kitt y’all LMAO.


"Santa baby, a '54 convertible too convertible too, light blue I'll wait up for you, dear Santa baby, so hurry down the chimney tonight

Think of all the fun I've missed Think of all the fellas that I haven't kissed Next year I could be also good If you'll check off my Christmas list"


And there you have it y'all my top five! Until next time yall.

60 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page