top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureaprilnewlyme

My Top 5 Beauty Products From E.L.F Cosmetics


So, the cosmetics industry has become, literally a billion-dollar business. In fact per my google search last year in 2018 alone it was a $532 billion dollar industry to be exact. Me personally I’m not a “makeup chick”. Never really have been. Don’t get me wrong I wear it, yes but I don’t do the whole, foundation, concealer, blush, and lashes, thing. If we go somewhere fancy or important I will be a little extra and do my full face. But that honestly happens few & far between. In general, I like to keep it pretty simple. I’m a less is more kinda person when it comes to makeup. To Be honest, since I work out of my home I probably wear makeup a good two to three times a week at the most. And many of those times are on the weekend when we have a date night or are meeting friends. So to say I’m not the greatest when it comes to applying makeup would be an understatement. That would be a pretty good assumption. If your anything like me not to worry people. Over the past few years, there have been countless youtube beauty guru and bloggers like Tati Westbrook, Jaclyn Hill, and my personal favorite Jackie Aina to help & guild us all none makeup applying people. For the most part when I toon in to watch these guru’s apply makeup, give their tutorials they all tent to wear, write and talk about the “high end” cosmetic brands. Now you’ve got your MAC cosmetics which is I think the most well known of them all but then you’ve also got Nars, Lancome, Dior, and Chanel beauty to name a few.

Again, I’m not into makeup that much but believe me, when I tell you with these high-end products comes high-end price tags to match. Your basic foundation at MAC costs $31.00 plus tax for a 30oz container, while Lamcome will run you $48.00 for a 30oz container, For A Nares lipstick tube it cost $26.00, while a tube of MAC lipstick cost you $18.50. While a quad eyeshadow pallet from Lancome is $50.00 and a six shade eyeshadow pallet from Nars is $49.00. So when you not that into makeup for the most part and you, therefore, don’t know how to apply if you really don’t want to spend that much money on it. Maybe if I get into and start wanting to wear it more then I might make the investment but for now, buying a good three to four things can cost you nearly $100 bucks. Trust me I know from personal experience. Ya no, thank you I’m good! Me and my bank account are not about that life anymore. When I was in my late teens early twenties this seemed like a necessity. I got full-grown bills over here now. For me, I want something at a price point where I can get multiple things I need. And want them to have decent and or above-average quality. Enter E.L.F Cosmetics.

Now I’m not at all saying that everything that E.L.F makes has the best quality. That everything is just over the moon great. No, not at all yall. However, I will say for the most part everything I’ve have tried has been pretty decent and gets the job done. There have been some misses here & there, to be honest not gonna lie. I don’t think enough people know that there have also been products I prefer over so call high-end brands. No lie. The quality is outstanding with an awesome price point to go with it. A total win-win situation. I feel for the most part in general people equate a high price tag with luxury & quality which isn’t always the case. So today I wanted to shear with y’all my top five goto E.L.F products. These are things I order over & over again. I also keep a backup supply of these products so I'm never caught without it if needed.

5. E.L.F Sculping Silk Eyeshadow

I have always been a fan of eyeshadow pallets. I don’t know I just feel like your getting more bang for your buck you know. I purchased the Brown Beauties pallet. I absolutely love the color. The color tones are right up my apply. They’re so me y’all. Like Ives said before less is more. I love a subtle everyday look. I’m not one for bright bold colors. I’m not into it. The brown is a great base color that I apply all over, the middle color is a slightly lighter brown with a little shimmer to it which is great for the lid. While the soft cream color is great for an under brow color as well as in the tier ducts. It pretty much goes with just about 70% of my wardrobe. I purchased two of these as it really does go with everything and is excellent for everyday use. This will cost ya $5.00.





















4. E.L.F. Cream Eyeliner


Now, this is a product that I would argue rivals your high-end brands. Naturally, I get the color black. Now I will be honest and say that this isn’t a product I wear daily this is more of a weekender for me. However, the formula is like butter guys. I love how it's soft but not runny the product is, it’s a great consistency & formula. It's also beyond pigmented. Its black black y’all. I love to apply this liner with an angled brush. It's super easy to achieve a wing look, which between you & me before using this product was so impossible for me to do. This product will cost you $4.00.




3. E.L.F Clear Brow & Lash Mascara


This is a must-have for me. Honestly, I get made fun of for using this particular product by a lot, if all my girlfriend's guys. Now if you ask most people who wear makeup when it comes to their mascara color of choice. The overwhelming choice would black. When I use to wear black mascara and I still do depending on where I’m going as well as the overall look I’m going for. I use to get clumping which I hate will an unbelievable passion. It's just not a good look. In fact, in my opinion, it looks horrible. Your lashes stick together sometimes it looks like little black balls have attacked your lashes it's just gross y’all. The E.L.F Lash Mascara has a gel-like consistently that does not clump at all in my experience. It honestly goes on so smoothly. It not only separates the lashes but it also elongates your lashes as well. Plus in my opinion, it makes your eyes look less heavy like black mascara tens to do. The brow product is also a gel-like consistency that you apply after you’ve filled in your brows. I love it. It really sets your brows and locks them into place. Now at first, I was worried that since the product is a gel-like consistency it would like my brows looking shiny or wet. Not the case at all once the product drys fully. The retail price for this product is a whopping $2.00 guys Two separate products in their own right for $1.00 each.


2. E.L.F Ultra Precise Brow Pencil


There’s just something about having your brows done that just makes me feel all put together. Am I the only person that feels that way LOL. Sometimes I can just fill in my brows, set them and put on a little lip gloss and feel super cute. I don’t know, it's hard to articulate. I just feel like when your brows are done its hard to go wrong. Your makeup could literally be flawless. You could look like you just walked out of a magazine, For me, if your brows aren’t done it will throw the whole look off. I love love love this brow pencil. I always get the color deep brown which matches perfectly. It applies so well, glides on my skin. I also enjoy how it has a spoolie on the other end in order to brush and style your brows. It's also a twist up. Meaning in order to get the actual product out you have to twist it. I one hundred times prefer a twist up vs a general pencil they would eventually need to sharpen. The whole design is very convenient! It retails for only $5.00 truly can’t beat that price.


1. E.L.F Lip Exfoliator


Last but certainly not as all least we have the lip exfoliator. Now I buy backups for this product as well. Most people don’t understand the importance of exfoliating. Exfoliating is the process of removing dead skin cells from the surface of your skin using a chemical, granular substance, or exfoliation tool. Your skin naturally sheds dead skin cells to make room for new cells every 30 days or so. Sometimes, dead cells don't shed completely. Most people exfoliate their feet when they get pedicures, their faces with scrubs, and some even their body with body polishes (which are awesome if you haven’t tried them). But not a lot of people I find exfoliate their lips. This product takes care of that for you. Its shapes and placed in a lipstick tube. Basically, you would apply it the same as you would lipstick and the corse materials get rid of the dead skin. It's really simple. Please, the two flavors I've tried taste great. My all-time favorite id the brown sugar and then there the yummy coconut. Now I’m not promoting eating these. Not sure if you sure be tasteing/eating them but let's be real it's on your lips your gonna taste it LOL. This will run you $4.00.

Now for $20.00 you can buy five things! Imagine that! Now if you shop at Lancome you can’t even buy a dang tube a lipstick for that price. Food for thought right? Kinda puts things in perspective for ya? Again, I’m not claiming to be some kinda expert but I will say you can’t beat the prices at E.L.F. They are truly undefeated people. More importantly from the majority of the products I’ve tried the quality is pretty good as well. Good quality at a beyond reasonable price pint. For a person like me not that into makeup, not so great at applying it. E.L.F cosmetics fits the bill. Hopefully, I’ve put some of you guys up on game about this company LOL. Until next time y’all.


33 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page