top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureaprilnewlyme

The Importance Of Time Management Part I

So I know what your thinking, duh everyone knows time management is important April. Thank you very much captain obvious.  Well, ladies and gentlemen, I found this out the hard way so humor me ok? Now when I use to work full time outside the home in a traditional job this was literally a no brainer for me. I worked as an insurance biller for over twelve years. I managed my time very well. I literally had to manage my time wisely in order to be successful in my field of work. Things, for the most part, ran like clockwork. In the morning first thing I would do after getting my coffee, of course, was answer my emails, listen to my voice mails if I had any, I would get ahold and return my patients calls, and do clerical work. Mid-morning I would do my insurance verification & actual billing. Finally in the late afternoon, after I had taken my lunch is when I would make my calls to the insurance companies, do my filling, do most of my data entry & updates to the patient's online charts, do more follow up calls to my patients. I had it down packed y'all. It was literally my daily routine. I use to think that stay at home wives and or moms had it so freakin easy. I mean they had all day to get things done right? They had it made.  



Well, when I became I housewife I was acting like I was on vacation y'all. I was so happy. In my mind, I was going to live this absolutely carefree, stress-free life. Everything was just going to effortlessly fall into place and get done. It was going to be a who a glamorous like like on TV. I was totally going to be the star of the new reality show in my head, “Housewives of Santa Clarita” y'all. So I use to staying up super late just cause I didn’t have anywhere to go in the morning. I mean honestly, I have nowhere to go in the morning so what's the harm in that. This meant I was getting up mid morning or even some times at noon. Yes, y'all noon! I was putting things and housework off cause I had all the time I the world right? Things started to get out of control. This went on for about a good three months before I finally got my life LOL. Before I saw things needed to change! Now, this is not what happens on any of the Housewives shows I've seen on TV. The housewives homes were always spotless, organized, and gorgeous. I don’t remember ever seeing an episode of anyone cleaning, of a mess. Things weren’t going to plan. Well, reality finally set in. “Housewives of Santa Clarita” was canceled. My show did not get renewed for another season y'all LOL. First of all the housewives on TV for one are rich and for two have lots of help in making and keeping their house spotless, maids nannies, butlers, and personal assistants. I by no means am anywhere near rich. I had & have no help, everything is pretty much was and is on me. I needed to realize that and be honest and realistic with myself. When I finally took a look around I honestly was completely overwhelmed by everything that needed to get done. By what needed to be maintained. I mean where do I start? What needs to be done right away? I had complete let thing go to hell excuse my French. It was bad y’all. It was truly embarrassing. I honestly felt like a complete failure y'all.      


Now despite the fact that I am not by any means a morning person starting my day off early for me was key. When I worked an out of the home traditional job I always preferred an early morning shift. In fact, I demanded it. That fact would make or brake me excepting a job offer. A complete deal breaker for me was any shift that started after eight o’clock. Honestly, I would really think twice about an eight o'clock shift. To be honest as crazy as it may sound to some even that was a little late for me.  Guys, on my resume it literally stated: “early morning shift only”. It was late serious to me. I felt so strong about started in the early morning because I knew for whatever reason I honestly got the most done in the early mornings. At my last traditional job, my hours use to be 6 am - 2 pm which I absolutely loved! I mean I hit less traffic which is a very big thing when you live in California. There were fewer people around or in the office, in general, to bother me and or ask me questions. Which allowed me to get “in the zone” first thing. Once your “in the zone” I tend to stay in it. So naturally, I thought this should be carried over when I started to stay at home. This was my new full-time job & I needed to start thinking of it as such. I know I needed to not only start off early in the morning, but I also needed to come up with an effective plan to get things done. So I sat down with a pen and paper and started to brain storm. So what I did was put myself on a cleaning schedule. This was my way to effectively manage my time. Unlike work, every day would be the same. So what I came up with there are certain days of the week where I clean certain rooms of my home and do certain chores (upcoming blog of my cleaning schedule). This is what I have found that works best for me. Ideally, I like to get all my house work done before lunch which I normally have at noon. Getting my housework done so early allows me to not only make sure I keep my home clean, but it also allows me to work on this blog, my YouTube channel (insert YT link), and Beer Kulture ( )in the afternoon.  


Its has really been working for me y'all. Also being on a schedule makes me accountable for what needs to get done. It honestly keeps me on track. I have to give my discloser this is something that took trial and error. It wasn’t something that I thought about just did one day and it worked. I feel strongly that doing whats best for you is key. You have to be comfortable and realistic about what can and can’t get done within what time frame. Hopefully, this helps and or inspired some of y’all to manage your time. Until next time y’all!   

18 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page