top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureaprilnewlyme

The Importance of Time Management Part II: My Cleaning Schedule

As the saying goes, “time is of the essence.” I gotta say I completely agree. I'm the type of person who wants to get it done so to speak. Time management truly comes into play in my life mostly when it comes to my housework, since I'm a stay at home wife. Let's be honest, no one likes a dirty house. I personally can't function in a mess. Not only is it hard to concentrate, it is a trigger to my anxiety. Now don't get me wrong, I'm not by any means a neat freak. Our house isn't one hundred percent clean at all times. I will wholeheartedly tell you I can't stand cleaning. I honestly hate it with a passion. However, what I hate even more is being overwhelmed. Which is what will and has happened each time I let the house and my chores get out of control, and when I don't take the time out to stay on top of what needs to be done. Yes, this means cleaning a little daily vs. cleaning when your house just looks a complete mess. In the past, I used to clean only on my weekends. I would start on Saturday morning get the majority of it done, and more than likely, whatever I didn't finish would get done on Sunday morning. It took a lot out of me, as I was trying to do everything pretty much in a day. Needless to say, it would take up just about my entire day, which used to be my only day off when I worked full time, it was just plain exhausting. I've also tried a few different methods like the popular "Fly Lady Cleaning Zone." I found it to be too detailed – it just didn't flow for me. For me, cleaning a particular room and or area a day works the best. I start early in the morning and try my best to get everything done before noon that same day. This way, one, I'm not overwhelmed, two, I still have my afternoon to do other things, and three, (most importantly) I accomplish something that day & feel very productive.

Monday

Living Room, Coat Closet, & Dining Room


Living room:

Dust & wipe down window blinds

Clean windows

Dust & wipe down bookshelf

Dust & wipe down TV stand

Vacuum ottoman & sofa (over & under cushions)

Wipe down ottoman & sofa (we have leather)

Vacuum floor & rug

Swiffer floor (if needed)

Water plants

Wipe down baseboards (once a month)


Dining Room:

Wipe down dining room table

Wipe down dining room chairs

Dust & wipe down shelf

Vacuum rug

Water plants

Wipe down baseboards (once a month)


Coat Closet:

Declutter

Reorganize

Swiffer floor



Tuesday

Master Bedroom & Closet


Master Bedroom:

Dust then wipe down the window blinds

Clean windows

Dust & wipe down TV stand

Dust & wipe down dresser

Dust & wipe down head & foot board of the bed

Dust & wipe down side tables

Change bedding

Make bed

Reorganize & declutter hair/makeup area

Vacuum floor

Wipe down baseboards (once a month)


Closet:

Reorganize & declutter

Separate dirty clothes in the hamper (makes laundry day easier)

Vacuum floor



Wednesday

Kitchen


Clean inside of the oven

Clean out fridge

Clean out microwave

Wipe down stove top

Wipe down counter tops

Wipe down all appliances

Reorganize & declutter pantry

Take inventory of fridge, freezer, & pantry (makes meal planning easy)

Swiffer floor


Thursday

My Spouse’s Den, Car, 1st Day of Laundry

Den:

Dust then wipe down window blinds

Clean windows

Dust & wipe down TV stand

Dust & wipe down bookshelf

Declutter

Vacuum floor

Wipe down baseboards (once a month)


Car:

Wipe down dash & center console

Wipe down car seats

Vacuum floor (once a month)

Wash exterior in a car wash (once a month)

Den:

Dust then wipe down window blinds

Clean windows

Dust & wipe down TV stand

Dust & wipe down bookshelf

Declutter

Vacuum floor

Wipe down baseboards (once a month)



Friday

Main Laundry Day


Wash & hang dry all jeans & denim items

Wash & dry all color clothes

Wash & dry all spouse’s gym clothes & towels

Wash & dry any delicate's

Iron all clothes that will be hung up

Hang up all clothes


I'm gonna be completely honest with y'all this system has totally been working for me thus far. It may seem like a lot to some people. It may seem like not enough for others. I don't feel rushed or overwhelmed when it comes to my housework. I truly feel like I'm being productive every day. I'm really enjoying it to be honest. When I stay on top of my chores my home is never a disaster, guys. What's most important to me at the end of the day is that my house is intact at all times. Is it perfect? Nope, not in the very least. Is it presentable if someone just happens to pop up? I can honestly say yes, it is. That's what I want. That was not the case before I implemented this system. I would wait until the house was a complete mess. No more. I honestly think you ultimately needs to do what's best for you. That's the only way it's going to work and you’re realistically going to stay on top of your housework. Maybe cleaning two rooms one day works best for you, or three rooms one day works best. Heck, maybe cleaning your whole house in one day works for you. You have to do you. As always, this is what works for me, y'all. I'm just here to share & give you some motivation. Until next time, y'all.

23 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page