top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureaprilnewlyme

What I’m currently Listing Too


Now let me be completely transparent I am just like those annoying teens that wear headphones all the time play extremely loud music that you can clearly hear. Yes, I am that chick in the grocery store listing to trap music & mouthing the lyrics while picking out which creamer I want. It goes down in the grocery store y’all LOL. I have always loved music, honest to God. There are certain tasks the I literally can't get done without it being to music. One major thing is cleaning. I totally get this from my Mommie & aunties. Now how many of us remember Saturday morning coming around. Your warm & comfy in your bed, peaceful & out of know where you’ll either hear some gospel or Al Green blasting out the front room? For those of you that don’t know the “front room” is the living room and or dean. The oldies and or gospel music meant two things, My, parents were cleaning. Therefor in a moment your mom was gonna bust in your room and passive-aggressively complain about you “still being sleep” until you get up and actually start cleaning as well. What can I stay I have turned into my Mommie. Love you Mommie. Now that we live in an apartment I have to walk around with headphones on. Yes, I’m a nice & considerate neighbor. I also love to have some nice current or old school R&B while I’m working on my YouTube or blog. Some people need quiet, me I need Pattie LaBelle or Fantasia. It just sets the vibe for creativity. And who doesn't listen to music when they take a shower or are getting ready? I have to lit when I’m getting ready. Basically, there is music playing in my head & my home the majority of the time. Now I’m not a big fan of the current state of music. For the most part, everyone’s sound lame and beyond similar. There are some hidden gem's here & there though. Here’s what I’m in heavy rotation in my pandora:


Ballin- DJ Mustard featuring Roddy Ricch


Now I just said some of these new dudes are alright LOL. DJ Mustard does have some major bangers I must say. Now I don’t know that much about Roddy Ricch though. I’ve only heard him on this song as well as his song with Nipsey Hussle, Racks in the middle another banger! He’s two for two from what I’ve heard from him thus far. I literally can't play this song without lowkey dancing. I’m so serious. The beat just makes your body move. I don’t care if you like rap music or not that beat is an undeniable period. Plus it’s a song about coming for nothing and being able to say you’ve finally made it. Who doesn't like an underdog? Hell, I’m an underdog!



Racks In The Middle- Nipsey Hussle featuring Roddy Ricch

Last Time I Checked – Nipsey Hussle

All My Life- Nipsey Hussle


The late great Nip! Still can't believe it but back to the music. Most like all of Nips music if you listen to his lyrics he’s telling you a story. In each song, there’s a story within his lyrics. Something that the majority of these new artiest are seriously lacking, The beats are grimy. All are completely west coast style beats. Which as you should know by now are my favorite being a born & raised Cali girl. Being from the inner city of LA he struggles were all of our struggles so his music hits on a whole different level if you’re a native Angelino. These songs get me hyped & they also motivate me.



G.O.A.T – Eric Bellinger Featuring Wale


Now this song isn’t new at all! I totally slept on it. Yes, I will admit I’m super late on this one. I heart this song it's so smooth. That’s honestly that’s the best adjective to describe the lyrics as well as beat. Also, lord knows I love me some Wale. Basically, the song is about how “in too” his girl this man is. How you love that a man actually expressing how much his into the person he has feelings for? What a concept LOL let me stop. But calling your girl the “goat”, greatest of all time is just makes your heart smile. Every woman wants that kinda praise from her boo.



Let’s Chill - Wale featuring Jeremih


Now Tony Toni Tone is a classic R&B group. Countless hits so any remake or sampling of there music needs to be up the pare or we’re going the have a serious problem. Hands down this song dose that. I kinda feel like Wale & Jeremih are paying homage to the legendary group vs them sampling. Wale woke, clean, smooth delivery fits perfectly with the original theme of the song as well as the beat. While Jeremih, admittedly not my favorite singer really fit the bill with the contributing hook. Definitely a song you can groove too.



The London - Young Thug featuring J Cole & Travis Scott


Hands down gotta be one of my favorite songs right now. The beat is truly killa. When the song first started playing I thought it was going to be an R&B joint but when that beat drops it's over LOL. I was very skeptical about this song as I don’t care that much for Young Thug. More then half of the time for a million bucks I couldn’t tell you what he was saying. Honesty to God there are like two of his songs where I understand what he’s saying this song happens to be number two. J Cole killed it !!! He’s gotta be one of the most underrated rappers of all time! No one is stepping to him lyrically. Defiantly what I like to call a riding song. The kinda song you put on in the car and you tell your passengers to hush, Everyone, getting ignored until the song ends LOL.


There you have it y’all. This is a snapshot of what’s going on over here. Music is a big part of my life if you can tell. I definitely use music as a tool to get through an unpleasant task. I use it to drown my sorrows as well as celebrate my joy. Until next time yall!

19 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page